Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
What heads and travel storage are listed in the Sense 2nd Gen box?
Therabody lists the device, a Dampener, a Standard Ball, a USB-C cable and a travel pouch. The page's package list does not name a heated or Air Compression head, and the manual says the power adapter is not included. A separate accessory image or a seller bundle should not be treated as this exact box list.
Explore this need in the finder →Can its on-device routines and five speed choices be used without pairing the phone app?
The manual describes Quick Start, five on-device speed choices, four preloaded guided routines, an LCD and real-time pressure feedback. Bluetooth pairing adds settings, additional speed levels and the option to swap up to five favorite routines; those additional app speed levels are not counted in the manual. Pairing requires an account and phone Bluetooth, but the documented on-device controls do not require pairing for basic use.
Explore this need in the finder →What does the published weight and runtime evidence establish?
The product page lists 31.25 oz (886 g) and 120 minutes; it does not say whether the weight figure includes an attachment. The matching US manual says up to 120 minutes depending on treatment settings. This agreement supports a non-conflicted manufacturer runtime match, not an independent battery test or a guaranteed session time. The captured official product page displayed sold out, so no stock claim follows from this review.
Explore this need in the finder →A distinct second-generation assessment
This is a desk-based assessment of the Theragun Sense (2nd Gen), using its US product page and the matching US second-generation manual. No unit was purchased, handled, weighed, timed or acoustically measured for this review. The product page capture displayed a sold-out status; that is a dated snapshot, not a claim about current availability elsewhere. The exact-generation manual matters: this report does not borrow specifications from the first Sense, Theragun Prime or another Theragun package.
The product is a full-size handheld percussion gun rather than a compact Mini. The manual describes Therabody’s three-sided triangular multi-grip handle, an LCD and on-device controls. Those are functional design details, not proof that the handle will feel comfortable for every hand or reach every area. If grip is a deciding issue, inspect return terms or try the exact device where possible instead of treating a manufacturer drawing as a fit test.
Screen and controls are the clearest distinction
Therabody lists five physical speeds and 12 mm of percussion amplitude. The manual describes four routines preloaded on the screen, visible pressure feedback, and the ability to swap in as many as five saved routines through the Therabody app. Quick Start and the device’s own routines are available on the gun; Bluetooth pairing adds settings, pressure tracking and additional speed levels. The manual does not specify how many of those extra app speeds there are, so “five speeds” describes the physical controls, not a verified total across every app setting.
Phone pairing is optional for basic on-device operation, but it is not anonymous or phone-free: the manual’s pairing instructions require a Therabody account, the app and enabled phone Bluetooth. If you need connected routines, check current app and device compatibility before buying. The display is feedback, not an independently validated force measurement.
The included kit is specific, and modest in head count
The exact product page and manual list two contact attachments: Dampener and Standard Ball. The manual distinguishes their intended contact styles, but neither name makes the head suitable for every body area or medical circumstance. No heated or Air Compression head appears in this kit list. A separate accessory or a retailer-created bundle should not be assumed to be in the box, and a shape that looks similar to another brand’s attachment does not establish compatibility.
The same package list includes a USB-C cable and travel pouch. The manual says the power adapter is not included and recommends a certified USB-C adapter within its stated 5–15 V range and at least 5 W. Before paying, check the exact seller’s contents, whether the supplied adapter meets the manual, and whether a claimed bundle is the second-generation device rather than the first Sense. A pouch is not evidence of airline approval.
Weight and runtime need their own caveats
The product page lists 886 g and dimensions of 130 × 115 × 43 mm, with no axis labels. It does not state whether the weight figure includes an attachment. This is the maker’s listed device weight, not our measurement or the weight of a packed pouch. The triangular shape and full-size grip distinguish the Sense from the compact Theragun Mini formats even though the Mini Plus page lists the same gram value; equal listed mass does not mean equal size, balance, leverage or comfort.
On runtime, the exact product page lists 120 minutes and the matching manual says up to 120 minutes depending on treatment settings. Unlike the two reviewed Mini generations, those two Sense figures agree. Still, “up to” is a manufacturer claim affected by settings, not a test result or promise that every session pattern will reach two hours. The manual advises switching off before charging and says the device will not operate while charging.
The manual calls the Sense quiet, but the reviewed exact-model sources provide no numeric dB rating, test distance, speed, room conditions or method. That adjective cannot establish that it is quiet for your household or comparable to a measured competitor. If a decibel number is essential, this library does not treat the Sense as a published-rating match.
Where it fits among the reviewed kits
Choose the Sense assessment when the combination of a full-size triangular grip, screen-led routines and two named heads matters more than a large attachment bundle. Its pouch and aligned 120-minute page/manual figures are documented conveniences, not proof of airline acceptance or a guaranteed runtime. Its listed weight is 886 g, with attachment state unspecified.
Compare it with the compact Mini Plus only if the format and heat requirement are still open. Mini Plus is listed with one heated percussive attachment; the Sense package lists Dampener and Standard Ball instead. Their pages both list 886 g, but Mini Plus’s page and manual disagree on maximum runtime, while the Sense page and manual agree at 120 minutes. These differences are about documented package and source evidence, not which model feels better. A separate Mini (3rd Gen) is lighter in its listed black configuration and has three named heads, but its own runtime sources conflict and the exact package differs again.
The user manual includes precautions, contraindications, setup, pressure guidance, locking and care instructions. It says the device is not waterproof and advises using light to moderate pressure rather than pressing directly on an uncomfortable area. Read the complete current manual and warnings before use; a buying-fit comparison cannot determine whether percussive massage is medically suitable for a particular person.
Bottom line
The Sense (2nd Gen) has a documented screen-and-routine workflow, a clearly named two-head kit and a travel pouch. Its evidence-based tradeoffs are the limited supplied head set, adapter sold separately, 886 g listed weight with attachment basis unstated, and qualitative rather than numeric noise claim. The official page snapshot showed sold out, so verify exact-generation identity, package, stock and return terms with any seller.
Key specifications
Key details at a glance
| Body format | Full size |
|---|---|
| Device body weight (where precise enough to compare) | 886 g |
| Speed-setting count (unknown if conflicted) | 5 |
| Manufacturer-listed amplitude | 12 mm |
| Heads listed in the kit | 2 |
| Heads listed in the kit | Dampener / Standard Ball |
| Heated massage head listed in kit | No |
| Storage/carry case listed | Yes |
| Current product-page runtime claim | 120 min |
| Manufacturer dB rating present | No |
| USB-C charging listed | Yes |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this review
Sources for this assessment
Check the fit against your priorities
Use the finder to compare documented features, then review the exact package and caveats.
