Model assessment · Therabody

Theragun Sense (1st Gen), Black review

A full-size Black Theragun with an LCD, biometric sensor, five physical speed choices, four named attachments and a travel pouch.

Sources checked 2026-11-02 · Our editorial approach

The official Black product page identifies SKU TG0003971-1A10. Therabody's manual directory separates the Sense (1st Generation) manual from Sense (2nd Generation); verify the exact edition, color and package with the seller.

Review the exact model, limitations and buying checks on BuyerShortlists before choosing a seller. We may earn from qualifying purchases.

Black Theragun Sense (1st Gen) manufacturer rendering with a round head attached and copper trim.
Manufacturer rendering · Black Theragun Sense (1st Gen) Therabody manufacturer product rendering
A useful fit for

A source-supported fit for shoppers who want a full-size triangular handle, an LCD and biometric-guided routine workflow, four named contact heads and a pouch in one specifically identified Black kit.

The main tradeoff

This is the earlier Sense generation, not Sense (2nd Gen). Its 725 g listed weight has no stated attachment basis; adapter inclusion is unconfirmed, the package has no heated or Air Compression head, and the sources publish no numeric dB rating. The 120-minute runtime is a conditional manufacturer claim rather than a test.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

What is included in the Black first-generation Sense package?

The exact Black product page lists a Sense device, Dampener, Standard Ball, Thumb, Micro-point, USB-C cable and travel pouch. It does not list a heated or Air Compression head. The Gen 1 support-directory section links this manual separately from the Gen 2 manual, so check the SKU and generation on any offer rather than relying on the Sense name alone.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can the first-generation Sense guide a routine without a phone connection?

Its manual describes an LCD with Quick Start and preset on-device routines, five physical speed choices, brief force-meter feedback and a biometric sensor. App pairing is described for additional guided content and requires the Therabody app and phone Bluetooth; the manual's on-device workflow is not an app-only control. These features should not be mistaken for medical advice or independently validated sensing.

Explore this need in the finder →
What weight and runtime figures are documented for the Black Sense?

The product page lists 725 g without clarifying the fitted-attachment state, and 210 x 160 x 65 mm without an attachment. It lists 120 minutes of battery life; the matching manual says approximately 120 minutes. The agreement supports a non-conflicted maker-runtime record, not a timed test or guaranteed session length. The 725 g listing first fits the valid 750 g questionnaire ceiling.

Explore this need in the finder →

An earlier full-size Sense edition with an LCD, biometric routines and a four-head Black kit; its weight basis is not specified.

Keep the Black first-generation identity intact

This is a source-based assessment of the Black Theragun Sense identified on Therabody’s product page as SKU TG0003971-1A10. The official support directory files its Sense manual under “Theragun Sense (1st Generation)” and lists the Sense (2nd Generation) manual separately. That bridge is why this report treats the two as different models rather than transferring package details between them. No device was bought, handled, weighed, timed or noise-tested for this review. A product page remains evidence of a documented edition, not a guarantee that every seller has stock or the same box.

The Sense is a full-size triangular multi-grip gun, not a compact Mini. Therabody lists dimensions of 210 × 160 × 65 mm without an attachment, but does not label the axes. Its listed weight is 725 g, and the page does not say whether that figure includes an attached head. It is a manufacturer specification, not our measurement, and a number alone cannot predict leverage, reach or comfort in a particular hand.

The screen, sensor and physical controls form one documented workflow

The matching manual describes an LCD, Quick Start, preset guided routines, five physical speed choices and brief Force Meter feedback when pressure is applied. It also documents a biometric sensor used with breathing and heart-rate features. These functions can make the device’s routine structure more explicit than a one-button model, but the screen or sensor is not independent proof of treatment quality or a medical reading. The manual itself says to avoid squeezing or firmly pressing the biometric sensor and describes supporting the gun with the other hand during readings.

Phone pairing is an optional route to the Therabody app’s guided routines and recommendations, not the only documented way to begin: the manual describes on-device Quick Start and guided routines. Pairing does require the app and phone Bluetooth; the manual’s first-time instructions also ask the user to create an account and verify an email. A shopper who does not want an app should still check whether the on-device routines are sufficient, while someone who does want connectivity should confirm current phone/app compatibility. No number of additional app speed levels is established in these sources.

Four named heads and a pouch are in the listed Black kit

The exact product page lists Dampener, Standard Ball, Thumb and Micro-point attachments, a USB-C cable and a travel pouch. The manual describes different intended contact styles for the four heads. This makes the package distinct from the second-generation Sense page, whose assessed package lists only two heads. The Gen 1 list contains all three names in the finder’s Theragun-head requirement, but it does not include a heated or Air Compression head. A retailer-created bundle or accessory shown elsewhere should not be substituted for the observed product-page kit.

The listed pouch is storage, not evidence of airline acceptance. The box diagram names the cable but not a wall adapter, and the manual tells users to connect the cable to an adapter without establishing that a wall adapter is included. Check the offer’s contents, the exact SKU and the supplied charging equipment before ordering.

Runtime agrees across the page and manual, but it remains conditional

The product page lists 120 minutes of battery life; the matching manual says approximately 120 minutes. Because those statements agree, the model qualifies for this library’s requirement for a non-conflicted manufacturer runtime figure. That is a source-comparison result, not a battery test or a promise that any session pattern will last two hours. The page/manual pair does not state a noise rating in decibels, distance, speed or test method, so “quiet” cannot be treated as a numeric comparison for this exact edition.

The manual says to move the gun with light-to-moderate pressure, not start directly on an uncomfortable area, power off before changing heads and keep the device dry. Its attachment instructions warn about pinching at the connector. Read the complete current manual and warning insert before use; this review does not decide whether percussion is suitable for a person’s health circumstances.

How it differs from the newer Sense package

The older Black kit’s documented draw is its four-head set and 725 g page figure, alongside a screen and biometric routine workflow. The separately reviewed Sense (2nd Gen) is a distinct US product page/manual pairing; its page lists 886 g with the attachment state unstated, and its package lists Dampener, Standard Ball and a pouch. These facts identify different choices, not a hands-on verdict about which device feels better. Compare the exact listing and generation rather than using “Sense” as a sufficient model identifier.

For shoppers who want the broadest named head set and a documented pouch while accepting an earlier-generation device, this particular Black package is worth examining. It is a weaker fit for a numeric dB requirement, an included heated attachment or a firm weight limit that depends on knowing the head-fitted state. No product photo or specification here establishes personal comfort or effectiveness.

The White finish is a separately identified, covered configuration

Therabody’s exact White page identifies SKU TG0003972-1A20 and repeats the Black page’s four-head, cable-and-pouch list and listed dimensions, weight and battery figure. The two color paths sit in the same first-generation Sense selector, while the official support directory keeps that manual separate from Sense (2nd Gen). I therefore cover White with this assessment rather than create a second functional review. The registered BuyerShortlists details link above is for the Black SKU, not a color-selected retailer offer; if color matters, confirm the precise finish and SKU before buying.

White Theragun Sense (1st Gen) with a dark round attachment installed in Therabody’s official product rendering.
Manufacturer rendering · White Sense, SKU TG0003972-1A20. The fitted head is shown for visual identification; this image does not inventory the package. View the exact White product page.

Bottom line

The Theragun Sense (1st Gen), Black is individually identifiable by SKU and by the manufacturer’s separate first-generation manual listing. Its useful documented combination is full-size form, LCD and biometric workflow, five physical speed choices, four named heads, pouch and aligned 120-minute page/manual figures. Its practical uncertainties are the unspecified attachment state for the 725 g weight, unconfirmed adapter inclusion, lack of a numeric dB figure and the need to verify that an offer is actually the Black first-generation unit. The review is desk research only; no ownership or testing is claimed.

Primary sources checked

Key specifications

Key details at a glance

Manufacturer SKU surfaced in sourceTg0003971-1a10
Finish pictured in this assessmentBlack
Body formatFull size
Device body weight (where precise enough to compare)725 g
Speed-setting count (unknown if conflicted)5
Heads listed in the kit4
Heads listed in the kitDampener / Standard Ball / Thumb / Micro-point
Heated massage head listed in kitNo
Storage/carry case listedYes
Current product-page runtime claim120 min
Matching manual runtime maximum120 min
Manufacturer dB rating presentNo
USB-C charging listedYes
Heat built into gun bodyNo

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this review

Sources for this assessment

Check the fit against your priorities

Use the finder to compare documented features, then review the exact package and caveats.

In this review